The official PNHS publication is the Journal of History, issued annually, features selected papers from the annual national conferences, refereed by a Philippine Editorial Advisory Board and an International Editorial Advisory Board. The Journal of History is published in the Philippine E – Journals of C&E Publishing, Inc. The PNHS Newsletter has been published since 1995, and is now in its 19th volume.

The PNHS started a monograph series: The Story of a Province – Surigao Across the Years by Fernando A. Almeda, Jr. (1993); Land of Hope, Land of Want – A Socio-Economic History of Negros, 1571-1985, by Violeta Lopez Gonzaga (1994); and Vignettes of Philippine History (2012, by Teodoro A. Agoncillo). The PNHS also contributed the section on the discipline of history in Volume II of the Philippine Encyclopedia of Social Sciences, “History and Current Situation of the Discipline of History in the Philippines,” published by the Philippine Social Science Council in 1993. This article was revised and updated and was published in the Philippine Social Sciences Report – Philippine Social Sciences: Capacities, Directions, and Challenges, edited by Virginia A. Miralao and Joanne B. Agbisit (2012).

Selected papers from two conferences have been published other than as issues of the Journal of History. “Selected Papers of the 9th National Conference on Local and National History (Butuan City, November 8-12, 1988) were published in the volume, In Search of Historical Truth, edited by Leslie E. Bauzon, co-published with Heritage Publishing House (1992). Papers from the 12th National Conference on Local and National History held at MSU-Marawi (October 22-24, 1991) were published in the issue “The Shaping of Philippine History: Focus on Mindanao,” in the Mindanao Journal (MSU-Marawi: XIX:1-2 (July-December 1992).

The Philippine National Historical Society has co-published monographs with the National Commission on Culture and the Arts – Committee on Historical Research (which has sponsored its annual conferences from 1995-1998, and also from 2002-2014 thru funding grants for the conference and the publication of the Journal of History) and the Manila Studies Association, Inc. such as Manila: Selected Papers of the Annual Conferences of the Manila Studies Association, 1989-1993, edited by Bernardita Reyes Churchill (1994); Determining the Truth, The Story of Andres Bonifacio, (Being Critiques of and Commentaries on Inventing a Hero, The Posthumous Re-creation of Andres Bonifacio, edited by Bernardita Reyes Churchill (1997, 1998); A History of the Philippines, by Samuel K. Tan (1998); Centennial Papers on The Katipunan and the Revolution, edited by Bernardita Reyes Churchill and Francis A. Gealogo (Centennial Volume, 1999); The Revolution in the Provinces, edited by Bernardita Reyes Churchill (Centennial Volume, 1999); Batis ng Kasaysayan (Historical Sources) I:1 (2004), edited by Bernardita Reyes Churchill, with Madrileña de la Cerna, Faina C. Abaya-Ulindang and Augusto V. de Viana (Associate Editors); and Batis ng Kasaysayan 2011 – The Movement for Independence of the Philippines (1896-1898 – Calendar of Documents in the Archives of the Cuerpo de Vigilancia de Manila, National Commission for Culture and the Arts, edited by Bernardita Reyes Churchill (Executive Editor), Eden Manalo Gripaldo, and Digna Balangue Apilado (Associate Editors) (2011); and Vignettes of Philippine History by Teodoro A. Agoncillo (2012).

During the Centennial of the Declaration of Independence in 1998, the Philippine National Historical Society, with the assistance and sponsorship of the National Centennial Commission and the National Historical Institute, under then Chairman and Executive Director, Samuel K. Tan, conducted 16 regional seminar-workshops on oral and local history on the theme “History from the People, Kasaysayan Mula Sa Bayan,” thus continuing its tradition of advancing the frontiers of historical research in local history in the context of national history. The proceedings of the 16 seminars were published in 16 volumes, four each edited by Digna Balangue Apilado, Bernardita Reyes Churchill, Eden Manalo Gripaldo, and Violeta S. Ignacio. The sixteen seminar-workshops were held in Vigan, (Ilocos Sur), Tuguegarao (Cagayan), Muñoz (Nueva Ecija), Los Baños (Laguna), Naga (Camarines Sur), Miag-ao (Iloilo), Dumaguete (Negros Oriental), Dapitan (Zamboanga del Norte), Calapan (Mindoro Oriental), General Santos (South Cotabato), Cotabato City (Maguindanao), Bago City (Negros Occidental), Surigao City (Surigao del Norte), Koronadal (South Cotabato), and Bangued (Abra).